Whitaker Wins Speedi-Beet Hoys Grade C Qualifier

  • Post category:News
You are currently viewing Whitaker Wins Speedi-Beet Hoys Grade C Qualifier
Local showjumper William Whitaker won Saturday’s Speedi-Beet HOYS Grade C Championship Qualifier at Bramham International Horse Trials in Wetherby, West Yorkshire and in doing so, he beat fifty-four other competitors.
Each competitor started out over the fences with the aim of taking home one of the three sought-after direct qualifying tickets for the Speedi-Beet HOYS Grade C Championship Final, which will take place during Horse of the Year Show this October.
After round one of the class, twelve horse and rider combinations remained in with the chance of securing a qualifying ticket and the ultra-competitive jump off saw five double clears being produced, which subsequently meant that the Championship Final allocation came down to the ever crucial clock.
William Whitaker from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire used his position as the last drawn rider to go to his advantage as he took the win on Neil Fiddes’ 7 year-old chestnut gelding Dublin V. Knowing that he needed a quick clear, William rode with pace and precision to leave all of the fences standing in 44.87 seconds and this saw the combination shave over a second off the previous fastest time.
Another local rider, Richard Barton from Bradford in West Yorkshire, took second place after producing his double clear on board Donata, a 7 year-old grey mare owned by Gaye Hartley. Richard and Donata had held the lead for a large proportion of class with their double clear in 46.04 seconds, but were just pipped at the final post. However, their round was good enough for a place in the top two.
Zoe Adams from Halstead, Essex finished in third with Sport Horse Centre Stud’s 8 year-old bay gelding C Est Seppel. This combination were first into the jump off and they got it off to strong start when producing their double clear in 47.59 seconds.
Bramham International Horse Trials – Saturday 13th June 2015
Speedi-Beet HOYS Grade C Qualifier
1st William Whitaker & Dublin V – 0/0 – 44.87 seconds
2nd Richard Barton & Donata – 0/0 – 46.04 seconds
3rd Zoe Adams & C Est Seppel – 0/0 – 47.59 seconds
NB: Qualifications will be updated pending official grading of results.
Horse of the Year Show 2015 will take place from the 7th – 11th October 2015 at Birmingham’s Genting Arena.